Kansas
Criminal Defense

Don't put your future at risk, schedule your free consultation today.
Contact Us
Vinnie Rivera, Gun Crime Attorney

Kansas Gun Crime Lawyer

As a criminal defense attorney with extensive gun charges experience in Kansas, I understand the importance of protecting the Second Amendment rights of those facing gun-related charges. My team and I are dedicated to providing aggressive and effective representation to defend against these charges and fight to protect your rights and freedom. Allow us to use our knowledge of the law and court system to navigate the complexities of your case and achieve the best possible outcome for you, including the preservation of your constitutional rights.

Facing Criminal Firearm Charges?

Facing Criminal Firearm Charges in Kansas can be a daunting experience, but with the right legal representation, you can fight to protect your rights and freedom. The Second Amendment to the Federal Constitution guarantees the individual right to own firearms, but that right is not absolute and can be subject to certain gun control laws. In Kansas, there are various laws and regulations governing the possession, use, and sale of firearms, and if you are charged with a violation of these laws, it is essential to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side.

Some examples of criminal firearm charges in Kansas include:

  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit
  • Illegal possession of a firearm in a school zone
  • Brandishing a weapon in a threatening manner
  • Unlawful discharge of a firearm
  • Possession of a stolen firearm

Violating these laws can result in severe penalties, including fines and imprisonment, so it is important to take any criminal firearm charges seriously. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you understand the specific charges against you and work with you to develop an effective defense strategy.

It is important to know that in Kansas, there are also laws that protect the individual rights to carry, possess, and use firearms for self-defense and other lawful purposes. An experienced attorney will also ensure that your rights are protected under the law and will fight to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed if they are not legally supportable.

At the Law offices of Vinnie Rivera, we have a team of experienced attorneys who are dedicated to protecting the rights of the accused and fighting to achieve the best possible outcome for our clients. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and discuss your options.

At What Age Can You Own a Gun in Kansas?

In Kansas, individuals must be at least 18 years of age to legally own or purchase a firearm. Minors under the age of 18 can possess firearms, but only if they are under the direct supervision of a parent, legal guardian, or qualified instructor. It is also important to know that there may be federal laws that prohibit certain individuals under the age of 18 from possessing firearms, such as those who are convicted of a crime or subject to certain restraining orders.

It is also important to know that Kansas does not have a state-mandated waiting period for purchasing firearms, but federally licensed firearms dealers must conduct background checks on all purchasers, which may take a few days to complete.

In 2015, Kansas passed a permitless concealed carry law authorizing anyone 21 years of age and older to carry a concealed firearm in public without a license or permit. Individuals under 21 years of age may only do so when on their own land, abode, or fixed place of business.

Federal law and Kansas restrict access to handguns by minors; people convicted of felonies or certain other crimes; and people with certain mental health adjudications.

What Happens if a Minor Is Caught With a Gun in Kansas?

In Kansas there are specific criminal penalties for minors’ illegal possession of handguns.

These Penalties Include:

  • First offense

    Class A nonperson misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.

  • Subsequent offense

    Severity level 8, nonperson felony, punishable by nine to 11 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $100,000, or both.

What Is the Sentence for Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon?

Kansas criminal penalties for possession of handguns by felons include:

Severity level 8, nonperson felony, punishable by nine to 11 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $100,000, or both.

(Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6304)

Criminal Use of a Firearm

Selling, manufacturing, purchasing, or possessing a shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches in length. (severity level 9, nonperson felony)

Any person under the age of 18 possessing a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long.

Any (Automatic) firearm designed to discharge or capable of discharging automatically more than once by a single function of the trigger.(severity level 9, nonperson felony)

Possessing, manufacturing, causing to be manufactured, selling, offering for sale, lending, purchasing, or giving away any cartridge which can be fired by a handgun and which has a plastic-coated bullet that has a core of less than 60% lead by weight. (severity level 9, nonperson felony)

Selling, Giving, Or Otherwise Transferring Any Firearm

  • A barrel less than 12 inches long for any person under 18 years of age.
  • To any person who is both addicted to and an unlawful user of a controlled substance. (class B nonperson select misdemeanor)

Possession Of Any Firearm

  • By a person who is both addicted to and an unlawful user of a controlled substance. (class A nonperson misdemeanor)
  • By any person, other than a law enforcement officer, in or on any Kindergarten-12th grade school property or grounds or attendance or extracurricular activities of pupils enrolled in kindergarten through 12th grade or at any regularly scheduled school sponsored activity or event. (class B nonperson select misdemeanor)
  • Refusal to surrender or immediately remove from school property or grounds or at any regularly scheduled school-sponsored activity or event any firearm in the possession of any person, other than a law enforcement officer, when so requested or directed by any duly authorized school employee or any law enforcement officer. (class A nonperson misdemeanor)

Criminal Use Of A Weapon

  • Setting a spring gun (class A nonperson misdemeanor)
  • Possessing any device or attachment of any kind designed, used, or intended for use in suppressing the report of any firearm. (severity level 9, nonperson felony)

There are exceptions to these laws. If you or a loved one has a firearm charge the consequences can be severe and life-altering.